## Regina Classic 5-Pin Bowling Cash Tournament



## **History**

The Regina Classic 5-Pin Bowling Cash Tournament originated as the Coca-Cola Classic Tournament in the late 1980's at Prairie Lanes in Regina and traditionally was held in late March. In the summer of 1994 Prairie Lanes closed and the tournament moved to the Golden Mile Lanes and was held there from 1995-2000. The tournament was halted in 2001 due to a variety of reasons, but mainly due to the calendar timing and lack of entries, late March was not working. In 2007, new GM of the Golden Mile Bowling Lanes, Rick Schafer, revived the Coca-Cola Classic tournament at the Golden Mile Lanes. The tournament moved up in the bowling schedule to late February, which was made available after the Saskatoon cash tournament ended (formerly KG Open). The name was changed from the Coca-Cola Classic to the Regina Classic in 2013 and continues to grow in popularity and numbers each year with its signature 100% payout!

## **Highlights**

- 1990's Televised Finals live on local TV at Prairie Lanes for a few years
  - Entries coming from all Western Canada Provinces including NWT
- 1990 Vic Krasilowez wins both A&B sides
- 1991 Doug Wood wins third title in four years (1988,1989,1991)
- 1995 Tournament moved to Golden Mile Lanes
- 2000 Geno Ziebarth bowls Perfect Game
- 2007 Tournament restarted at Golden Mile Lanes (100% payout introduced)
- 2009 Cordell Galbecka bowls Perfect Game
- 2009 Geno Ziebarth wins fifth title (1994,1995,1998,2008,2009)
- 2014 Jenn Baker wins, first female Champion
- 2015 Live streaming and live scoring on internet
- 2015 Brad Moens wins both A&B sides
- 2016 211 entries (with entries from Quebec, Maritimes & U.S.A)
- 2017 New "Classic TEAM Showdown" introduced Thursday night
- 2017 Televised Finals TV show taped & broadcast by Sasktel Max and on Youtube
- 2018 Bob Beaucage bowls Perfect Game & wins \$15,000
- 2018 Televised Finals TV show taped & broadcast by Sasktel Max and on Youtube
- 2019 214 entries, new record number of entries
- 2020 268 entries, new record number of entries
- 2020 Paying out \$80,510 in overall prize money. Minimum \$10,000 payout to the Champion!
- 2021 Tournament cancelled due to Covid-19 pandemic & public health restrictions
- 2022 Infamous power outage
- 2023 299 entries, record number of entries. Enhanced stepped qualifying pay-outs & Top 40 qualify
- 2023 Paying out \$97,716 in overall prize money. Minimum \$9450-\$10,550 payout to the Champion!
- 2023 Ryan Reichert bowls Perfect Game & wins \$3,495
- 2023 Mitch Davies wins both A&B sides, winning \$14,550
- 2024 299 entries, tied record number of entries. Paying out \$97,370 in prize money!
- 2024 Taylor McCaw bowls Perfect Game & wins \$8,240

Year	Champion	Runner-Up	Qualifying Cut	# of Entries	Location
1988	<b>Doug Wood</b> Winnipeg, MB				Prairie Lanes
1989	<b>Doug Wood</b> Winnipeg, MB				Prairie Lanes
1990	<b>Vic Krasilowez</b> Regina, SK	Won both A&B sides			Prairie Lanes
1991	<b>Doug Wood</b> Winnipeg, MB				Prairie Lanes
1992	<b>Lloyd Wiens</b> Saskatoon, SK				Prairie Lanes
1993	<b>Kevin Holdsworth</b> Red Deer, AB				Prairie Lanes
1994	<b>Geno Ziebarth</b> Millet, AB				Prairie Lanes
1995	<b>Geno Ziebarth</b> Millet, AB				Golden Mile Lanes
1996	<b>Andy Rogan</b> Winnipeg, MB				Golden Mile Lanes
1997	<b>Don Salmond</b> Moose Jaw, SK				Golden Mile Lanes
1998	<b>Geno Ziebarth</b> Millet, AB				Golden Mile Lanes
1999	<b>Mark Jackson</b> Edmonton, Ab				Golden Mile Lanes
2000	<b>Preston Karoly</b> Saskatoon, SK				Golden Mile Lanes
2001-2006	-no tournament				
2007	<b>Matt Schultz</b> Edmonton, AB	Doug Clark Regina, SK	2113	148	Golden Mile Lanes
2008	<b>Geno Ziebarth</b> Millet, AB	Kevin Clark Regina, SK	2088	162	Golden Mile Lanes
2009	<b>Geno Ziebarth</b> Millet, AB	Steve Peter Regina, SK	2067	161	Golden Mile Lanes

Year	Champion	Runner-Up	Qualifying Cut	# of Entries	Location		
2010	Cordell Galbecka Winnipeg, MB	Tom Stevenson Calgary, AB	2053	142	Golden Mile Lanes		
2011	Karie Kreutz Wetaskiwin, AB Regina	Jeff Hiibner , SK	2128	169	Golden Mile Lanes		
2012	Jordon Schuss Surrey, BC	Nick Uttley Surrey, BC	2151	177	Golden Mile Lanes		
2013	<b>Lonny Akers</b> Prince Albert, SK	Jordan Rachar Regina, SK	2127	147	Golden Mile Lanes		
2014	<b>Jenn Baker</b> Edmonton, AB	Mitch Davies Hamilton, ON	2079	179	Golden Mile Lanes		
2015	Brad Moens Regina, SK	Won both A&B sides	2140	182	Golden Mile Lanes		
2016	<b>Len Anseth</b> Cutknife, SK	Brad Moens Regina, SK	2170	211	Golden Mile Lanes		
2017	<b>Mitch Davies</b> Hamilton, ON	Mike Herbert Oshawa, ON	2227	195	Golden Mile Lanes		
2018	Matt Schultz Sherwood Park, AB	Greg Degrazia Thunder Bay, ON	2208	202	Golden Mile Lanes		
2019	Erik Kjos Wetaskiwin, AB Regina	Brad Moens , SK	2165	214	Golden Mile Lanes		
2020	<b>Tyler Tytgat</b> Edmonton, AB	Taylor Michel Thunder Bay, ON	2185	268	Golden Mile Lanes		
2021	-no tournament (Covid-19)						
2022	<b>Len Anseth</b> Cutknife, SK	Jon Moens Regina, SK	2233	260	Golden Mile Lanes		
2023	<b>Mitch Davies</b> Hamilton, ON	Won both A&B Sides	2226 (Top 40)	299	Golden Mile Lanes		
2024	Parker Anderson Calgary, AB	Tyler Tytgat Edmonton, AB	2229 (Top 40)	299	Golden Mile Lanes		
2025	Mark Johnstone Edmonton, AB	Matt Houston Toronto, ON	2201 (Top 40)	269	Golden Mile Lanes		